Pilote de pôle d’impact des bourses universitaires

Pilote de pôle d’impact des bourses universitaires

Pilote de pôle d’impact des bourses universitaires

Les bourses peuvent être un incroyable élément de libération de la pauvreté, rendant possibles le succès et la progression sociale individuels. Des fonds importants sont investis pour soutenir les bourses africaines par les gouvernements, les fondations, les entreprises, les ONG et les particuliers

Les bourses d’études sont également citées comme élément clé pour atteindre l’Objectif de développement durable des Nations Unies (ODD 4).

Pourtant, il peut être difficile pour les fournisseurs de bourses d’accéder à des chercheurs potentiels avec le profil souhaité d’une manière rentable, et encore plus difficile pour les chercheurs potentiels d’accéder aux bourses d’études. Beaucoup d’étudiants méritants ont du mal à rassembler une gamme de bourses pour entreprendre et terminer leurs études. Avec une demande croissante de places dans les universités, ces frustrations s’amplifieront dans les années à venir. 

Étant donné la grande variété de contextes qu’ils servent, il est normal d’avoir plusieurs modèles de programmes de bourses d’études. Cependant, tous ne sont pas basés sur des données factuelles ou axés sur les impacts, et il semble y avoir peu de visibilité sur les indicateurs clés de performance (ICP) utilisés pour mesurer l’impact.

Souvent, les fonds ont tendance à être tactiquement déployés plutôt que stratégiquement investis. Par exemple, il n’y a pas de « rassemblement » dans les domaines souffrant de pénuries de compétences clés en raison du nombre très réduit de mécanismes efficaces pour partager les meilleures pratiques ou mettre en relation les parties prenantes.

Notre expérience avec les élèves, les écoles et les universités dans les pays d’Afrique subsaharienne, ainsi que les fournisseurs de bourses d’études, suggère qu’il existe une opportunité pour l’Afrique de « dépasser » la pensée et la pratique mondiales dans cet espace.

En pilotant un « pôle d’impact des bourses », le rôle d’ESSA contribuera à concrétiser cette opportunité en mettant l’accent sur ce que nous considérons comme un enjeu stratégique majeur pour le secteur de l’enseignement supérieur, ainsi que pour les écoles et les bailleurs de fonds.

 

Nos objectifs

  • Accroître l’impact des dépenses actuelles, en attirant davantage d’investissements dans les bourses d’études en Afrique subsaharienne avec pour objectif ultime d’améliorer les résultats scolaires  

  • Éprouver le modèle et produire une proposition d’investissement pour un bailleur de fonds important afin de nous aider à faire évoluer le projet pilote et à le soutenir.

 

Le projet pilote se concentrera sur trois concepts relatifs aux bourses d’études en Afrique subsaharienne :

Vérifier : « Prouver le besoin et l’opportunité avec des preuves tangibles »

Notre travail se concentrera sur les bourses d’études supérieures et post-universitaires. 

Nous identifierons les programmes les plus efficaces, examinerons en détail leurs modèles et identifierons leurs principaux facteurs de réussite, de la sélection des bourses à l’obtention du diplôme et au-delà.  

Nous voulons produire des preuves convaincantes à utiliser pour commencer à développer des moyens pratiques pour faciliter le changement.

Créer : « Ressources, relations et crédibilité »  

Notre objectif est de créer des ressources utiles, d’établir des relations et des communautés d’intérêts dans l’espace, et d’établir la crédibilité nécessaire pour mobiliser et influencer le changement. 

Un exemple consistera à produire un ensemble de paramètres d’impact des bourses d’études intégrant le succès des boursiers, des bailleurs de fonds et des fournisseurs, ainsi que l’efficacité et l’impact social. Nous présenterons également des exemples de bonnes pratiques, des modèles et des tendances clés, ainsi que de nouvelles idées de réflexion. Dès le début, nous visons à donner une « voix »  aux chercheurs et à les impliquer activement dans tout ce que nous faisons.  Nous voyons également la construction d’une communauté d’intérêts d’entreprise comme une autre étape importante. 

Nous renforcerons cela avec des ressources pratiques, y compris des boîtes à outils numériques et des ressources d’apprentissage pour les étudiants, les bailleurs de fonds et les prestataires à toutes les étapes du processus ; de la demande, à l’étude, à la recherche d’un travail décent, mais également en lançant/gérant un programme de bourses d’études.

Le développement des connaissances et des capacités pour réaliser ces objectifs, et la prestation à petite échelle, constituent une étape importante vers la création d’un pôle d’impact des bourses d’études durable.

Communiquer : « Commencer à mobiliser et changer le discours »

Les premières réactions à l’idée de créer le Pôle d’impact des bourses d’études partagées par un éventail de parties prenantes ont été très encourageantes. 

Au cours de ce pilote, nous voulons amorcer un changement et commencer à modifier le discours en donnant un rôle proéminent aux preuves des meilleures pratiques et aux modèles de rendement les plus élevés, afin de réaliser cet objectif. L’engagement de groupes actuellement fragmentés sera un autre élément important. Nous produirons une gamme de communications multiples et des opportunités pour que les personnes dans l’espace s’impliquent au sujet des questions stratégiques et opérationnelles.

 

Ce projet s’harmonise parfaitement avec notre objectif consistant à « Rassembler, informer, inspirer et accroître l’impact pour tous ceux qui investissent dans l’éducation en Afrique subsaharienne. »

PARTNERS

The Schaufler Foundation
The Schaufler Foundation

The Schaufler Foundation was founded in 2005 by Senator h. c. Peter Schaufler (deceased), former CEO and owner of BITZER, with the aim to continue his life’s work of combining entrepreneurship with science, research, education and the arts.

In terms of science and research, the focus is on environment protection. In the field of education, the foundation supports a variety of universities in Germany and now, by working with ESSA, will expand its activities into Africa.  The Schaufler Foundation is a key funder of ESSA's Pilot Scholarship Impact Hub project.

The Schaufler Foundation also funds the Schauwerk Sindelfingen, a museum for contemporary art.  Since its opening in June 2010, the Schauwerk Sindelfingen has displayed a representative selection of over 3,500 works from the Schaufler collection, together with loans from other museums and collectors as part of its temporary exhibitions.

The Schaufler Foundation

 

Student Scholarship Survey

ESSA is conducting a survey of African students currently in receipt of a scholarship and also alumni who received a scholarship during the past five-seven years.  The survey takes no more than ten minutes to complete and will help us with our work on this project. 

Survey link

Pilot Scholarship Impact Hub

Frank Odwesso Photo: Frank Odwesso

Pilot Scholarship Impact Hub

Scholarships can be an immense liberator from poverty, give personal success and social progression. Significant funds are invested supporting African scholarships by governments, foundation, corporates, NGOs and individuals.

Scholarships are also cited as a key component to achieving the United Nations Strategic Development Goal (SDG 4).

Yet it can be difficult for scholarship providers to access potential scholars with the desired profile in a cost-effective way, and even harder for potential scholars to access the right scholarships. Many deserving students struggle to put together a range of scholarships to undertake and complete their courses. With a surging demand for university places these frustrations will amplify in the years ahead. 

It feels right, given the wide variety of contexts they serve, that there are multiple models for scholarship programmes. However, not all are evidence based or impact driven and there seems little visibility on the Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) used to measure impact. 

Frequently, funds tend to be tactically deployed rather than strategically invested. For example, there is no ‘joining up’ in areas of key skills shortages due to very few effective mechanisms for sharing best practice or connecting stake-holders.

Our experience with learners, schools and universities in sub-Saharan African countries and scholarship providers suggests that there is an opportunity for Africa to ‘leapfrog’ global thinking and practice in this space.

By piloting a ‘Scholarship Impact Hub’ ESSA’s role will help to turn this opportunity into a reality, focussing on what we believe is a major strategic issue for the Higher Education sector as well as schools and funders.

 

Our goals

  • Increase impact on current spending, attracting more investment into scholarships in sub-Saharan Africa with the ultimate objective to improve educational outcomes 

  • Prove the model and produce an investment proposal for a major funder to help us take the pilot to scale and sustain it.

 

The pilot will focus on three concepts relating to Scholarships in sub-Saharan Africa:

Collate: “Prove the need and opportunity with hard evidence”

Our work will concentrate on Under and Post graduate scholarships. 

We will identify the most effective programmes, look at their models in detail and identify their key success factors from scholarship selection to graduation and beyond. 

We want to produce hard compelling evidence to use to start developing practical ways to help change.

Create – “Resources, Relationships and Credibility” 

Our aim is to create useful resources, build relationships and communities of interest in the space and establish the necessary credibility to mobilise and influence change. 

One example of this will be to produce a set of scholarship impact metrics incorporating scholar, funder and deliverer success as well as effectiveness and social impact. We also will highlight examples of best practice, exemplars and key trends along with new thinking ideas. Early on, we aim to give scholars a “voice” and involve them actively in all we do.  We also see building a corporate community of interest as another important step. 

We will reinforce this with practical resources, including digital toolkits and learning resources for students, funders and deliverers at all stages of the process – from application, to study, to finding decent work as well as starting up/managing a scholarship programme.

Building the knowledge and capabilities to do this and delivering at small scale is an important step towards creating a sustainable Scholarship Impact Hub.

Communicate – “Start to mobilise and change the discourse”

The early reactions to the idea of creating the Scholarship Impact Hub from a range of stakeholders have been highly encouraging. 

During the pilot we want to initiate change and begin to alter the discourse with the evidence of best practice and the highest return models playing a central role in achieving this. Engaging currently fragmented groups will be another. We will produce a range of multi-way communications and opportunities for those in the space to engage on both strategic and operational issues.

 

This project perfectly aligns with our purpose to “Join up, inform. Inspire and increase impact for everyone investing in education outcomes in sub-Saharan Africa.”

PARTNERS

The Schaufler Foundation
The Schaufler Foundation

The Schaufler Foundation was founded in 2005 by Senator h. c. Peter Schaufler (deceased), former CEO and owner of BITZER, with the aim to continue his life’s work of combining entrepreneurship with science, research, education and the arts.

In terms of science and research, the focus is on environment protection. In the field of education, the foundation supports a variety of universities in Germany and now, by working with ESSA, will expand its activities into Africa.  The Schaufler Foundation is a key funder of ESSA's Pilot Scholarship Impact Hub project.

The Schaufler Foundation also funds the Schauwerk Sindelfingen, a museum for contemporary art.  Since its opening in June 2010, the Schauwerk Sindelfingen has displayed a representative selection of over 3,500 works from the Schaufler collection, together with loans from other museums and collectors as part of its temporary exhibitions.

The Schaufler Foundation

 

Student Scholarship Survey

ESSA is conducting a survey of African students currently in receipt of a scholarship and also alumni who received a scholarship during the past five-seven years.  The survey takes no more than ten minutes to complete and will help us with our work on this project. 

Survey link